Why I love the Denver Broncos

Posted: June 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

I get these questions all the time: “How did you become a Denver Broncos fan?” or “Why are you a Denver Broncos fan when you live in Dallas?”

No, I’ve never lived in Denver, but I had the chance to watch one of the greatest NFL quarterbacks of all time. This man provided me with my first sports memory. Oh, and he was my first crush (lol). An eight-year-old me was glued to the TV in 1998 as this man led the Denver Broncos to their first Super Bowl win in Super Bowl XXXII:

My dad was always a fan of John Elway so we watched games together when we could get them in DFW. It was a blast to yell at the TV and have fun with my dad while watching great football. At first, I probably liked the Broncos because their mascot was a horse and that was my favorite animal (silly me), but when I realized what I was watching, I loved the Broncos even more. I was witnessing a Hall of Fame quarterback lead a team of Hall of Famers. It was an adrenaline rush to watch Elway play with Shannon Sharpe and Terrell Davis and you could really see their passion on the field. The game was even more interesting because Mile High Stadium was rocking every Sunday!

The next year was even more exciting when a nine-year-old me watched again as my quarterback led his team to back-to-back Super Bowl victories. But, my world came crashing down soon after when John Elway announced his retirement. This was my first experience of heartbreak as I watched the quarterback I loved to see every Sunday walk away from the game. But he isn’t gone from the Denver Broncos organization, thankfully.

In 2004, I watched very proudly as John Elway was inducted into the Hall of Fame. I’ve never been to a Broncos game and was barely old enough to remember Elway, but my first memories of sports were his prime years and I’ll never forget that.

Ever since those early football memories, my passion for sports has grown. On any given day you can find me researching about the team, watching games whenever and wherever I can and writing my own thoughts about the Broncos. Obviously this passion was instilled in me at a young age.

Now, as a 23-year-old woman, my goal is to work for the Denver Broncos. And guess who would be my boss? Executive Vice President of Football Operations, John Elway. Going to work every day for the team I adore and with the player I loved to see play football as a young girl would be a dream come true.

Today (6/28) is Mr. Elway’s birthday and I can’t think of a better way to wish him a happy birthday than to let the world know HE is the reason I’m a Denver Broncos fan. It’s not because I love horses or that blue and orange perfectly compliment each other. It’s not even because Mile High Stadium has some of the loudest fans in the NFL. No, it’s because John Elway gave me my first sports memories. His two Super Bowl victories are the first things I think of when I think of football. Yes, even in the middle of Dallas Cowboys country.

P.S. If you’re reading this Mr. Elway, I’d love to work for the Broncos organization. šŸ˜€ I currently write about the Denver Broncos on Bleacher Report and would love the chance to speak with you. Go Broncos!!

Leave a Reply

