Operation Denver in November

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

You might think I’m crazy, but I bought two tickets to a Denver Broncos game last Thursday. No, they don’t play the Dallas Cowboys this year. I’m going to Denver. For a football game. In November šŸ˜€ I don’t have a hotel reservation or a flight, but I have what’s most important: a ticket to see my team play at Mile High Stadium!

I’ve always dreamt of going to Denver for a Broncos game. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve watched them play on TV and desired to be at Mile High with some of the craziest NFL fans. It always looks like they have so much fun and watching my team play on TV just isn’t the same. Now that I have a good job, I’m single and have no other responsibilities besides myself, I decided now is the best time to go! So I’m calling this trip Operation Denver in November.

When I bought the two tickets, I didn’t have a 100% answer from the person who was expressing interest in going with me. After I bought the tickets and he saw how excited I was, he jumped on board and was ready to go (thank you, Justin!) Yes, I’m a little crazy….but I don’t care.

We’re leaving Friday after work on November 16 and taking a taxi to the airport immediately after the game on Sunday so we can get back to DFW in time for work Monday morning. Call me crazy, but I want it to snow so we can get the full effect of a Broncos football game! After hearing Denver gets its first snowfall on Halloween I realize this dream of a white football game could easily come true, which is why we have decided not to rent a car. lol Us Texans do NOT know how to drive in snow. The goal is to stay in a hotel in downtown Denver, preferably in the LoDo neighborhood. This is where all the young, hip bars, clubs and happenings are. Plus, there is free public transportation in this area! Can’t beat that.

Our tickets are in the 500 section of the stadium, three rows from the very top, to be exact. EXTREME nosebleed! But it’s the game against the San Diego Chargers, our biggest rival, and it’s a sold out game. We got the last of the tickets available. I can picture Justin and I way up there in our Broncos gear with pink noses and cheeks and a light snow falling on the field. The fans are all decked out in orange and the Denver skyline is in the background. The stadium is shaking from the cheers as Peyton Manning throws a 60-yard TD pass and I give a high five to the fan next to me. Seriously, I CANNOT WAIT!

I cannot tell you how excited I am about this trip. I’m absolutely giddy. Watching the Broncos play on TV and writing about them for Bleacher Report just isn’t satisfying my love for them. I have to be there and witness it for myself. And guess what? If I absolutely love the experience, I plan on making it a yearly trip! I’m prepared for this trip to take a chunk out of my paycheck, but if it’s only once a year, then so be it. It’s what I want to do and what I’m incredibly passionate about.

Leave a Reply

